Rain in the forecast

Tomorrow is supposed to be my Chris and my first 5k together. Only the weather forecast is calling for thunderstorms! Are 5k called off for thunderstorms? I’ve haven’t been training in the rain …

Hopefully the weathermen (and women!) are wrong, and tomorrow will be lovely. I’m planning on prepping tonight with lots of stretching and positive thinking. Also, I’m going to create a Race Day playlist. 3.1 miles isn’t long, but it’s a enough time to get a few motivational songs in. I’ve never raced with headphones in, but I’ve seeing that I won’t be so much racing as trying to finish, I think the headphones are alright.

Which brings me to my goals for tomorrow’s race. Chris and I have one small goal for our first race: don’t walk. If I can run the whole thing, even if I am cruising at a snail pace, then I will feel that my goal’s been met. This will be hard for me, because I have only ever run a race for place and time. Sure, it’s been years, but I know that competitive person is still in me. I have to allow for people who’ve been running for longer to go ahead of me, and I can’t mind that my pace is super slow. My biggest fear for the race is that I’ll go out fast and die halfway through. It would be a really sad way to go.

So yes, let’s hope for: 1) good weather 2) good pacing 3) and a good overall race for Chris and I! Hopefully, I’ll have a race to tell you about soon!

3 responses to “Rain in the forecast

  1. oh my goodness! first 5k!!!! good luck! crossing my fingers for good weather!

  2. Good luck! How exciting… And I think your goal is very manageable for a first race. I love that you’re setting yourself up for success. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

