New Exercise Plan

Next Tuesday, Chris and I are running are first 5k together! I’m scared and excited at the same time. I hope it goes well! I also hope that my knees continue to hold up. In an effort to make sure I don’t end up back in PT, after our 5k I will take some time off from running outside. Instead, I will get my cardio work outs on the treadmill. The treadmill is softer on my knees, so hopefully that will keep me fit and healthy.

However, running outside gives me a thrill that running on the treadmill lacks. That being said, I’m looking for ways to stay motivated in my work outs. My current idea is to begin weight lifting. I’ve never been a fan, but I’m learning how important it is to lift weights. I’ve starting researching how to begin weight lifting, and it seems that there are lots of great books out there specifically for women.

So I ask you: what weightlifting book do you recommend? The most important thing would be something that provides alternatives for exercises such as squats. Since I have bad knees, I cannot do that motion. Suggest away – I would love to start in the coming weeks!

3 responses to “New Exercise Plan

  1. Good luck on the 5K! Very exciting!

  2. Good luck on your first 5K! During the summer, I switch to the treadmill because it is so hot outside! And yes, you’re right, the treadmill is less impact too. I haven’t read any weightlifting books but I do read a lot of useful tips and exercised online. Check out the websites of some women’s magazines like Glamour, Self, and Health 🙂

Leave a Reply

