Kicking my own butt

As promised, I trucked through my 3 mile run last night. I didn’t head out until 7:30 so it wasn’t sweltering, but it was still pretty hot out. The heat definitely took a toll on me, and though I ran a little less than I did on Friday, I felt a lot more was taken out of me during the run. When I got home, I forced myself to do some foam rolling and then plopped on the couch. I would’ve been content spending the entire night without moving off of it – I was that exhausted.

Finally, around nine, I convinced myself that I needed a good dinner. Does anyone else often eat dinner past 8:30 or is it just a me-thing? I went for quick and easy, because it was late and Chris was working late. Also, because the couch was screaming at me for leaving it. I baked a piece of salmon that I seasoned with lemon juice and garlic. Will it cooked, I broke out the Trader Joe’s frozen asparagus risotto and heated it up. I combined both and paired with a glass of 3 Buck Chuck. The risotto was so good – it didn’t taste like freezer food at all!

While eating dinner, I started in on a new series for me American Dreams. Netflix kept suggesting it, so when I found Season 1 on Amazon for $10, I decided to pick it up. I’m two episodes in and so far so good. I especially love the historical aspect of it and how big events are intertwined with the characters lives.

What’s one thing I failed to do last night? Make Chris a birthday cake! His birthday is today and though I bought all the ingredients, I was too exhausted to bake last night. That means tonight I’ll be baking a cake and cooking dinner for my birthday boy.

Which brings me to: Happy Birthday Chris!

I love birthdays, and can’t wait to spoil him tonight. I’ve been itching to give him his gift ever since I bought it last week. Let’s hope he loves it!

Leave a Reply

