Little Miss Competitive

When I was little, my dad would call me Little Miss Bossy. I hated the nickname then, but nonetheless, I’ve always had a fondness for the Little Miss characters.

Source

In fact, I have a Little Miss magnet on my fridge courtesy of the Target dollar bins that allows me to circle with a moveable magnet what Little Miss I am for the day. Last night, I was Little Miss Competitive. Sure, there isn’t actually a Little Miss Competitive, but work with me here.

 Source

Since I’ve been doing Pilates 2x a week since February, sometimes the classes can feel a bit repetitive, and I feel myself slipping into an only okay workout. Last night, I started to feel that way at the beginning of class. I decided to create a game to remedy the situation. I decided that I was trying out for oh-say the Olympic Pilates event – because yes, if they had that I’d surely be top contender, hah – and had to stick every move perfectly. Well call me crazy (it’s okay, go ahead), but it worked. My ultra competitive side came out, and I tried my best to hold all the moves perfectly. I had a strong workout, and I’m currently watching my phone for a call from the IOC.

After my competition workout, I was ready for a big dinner. In the summer, that means one thing, a big salad. I hard boiled eggs, while Chris chopped up all the veggies. In the mix was lettuce, tomato, onion, chickpeas, shredded cheddar, and hardboiled eggs. Chris surprised me by bringing home a French baguette to go with the brie I picked up for $2(!) at Zabar’s the other day. It was the perfect summer dinner.

I love Zabar's.

We rounded out the night with a fabulous trip to the dog park. Often, Hadley is incredibly obsessed with playing fetch, but last night we refused to give him a ball. Eventually he relented and had a wonderful play session with another pup. My little welshie is learning lessons!

Whatever, I do what I want.

The night ended with my catching up with Friday Night Lights and enjoying some dark chocolate pudding I whipped up. Instant pudding is currently one of my favorite quick snacks. A ½ cup is all I need to cure my chocolate cravings, and I get a serving of dairy in. Double score.

Oh, and let’s end this post on something exciting: Chris and I signed up for our first 5k on July 12!!!

What Little Miss (or Mr.) are you today?

10 responses to “Little Miss Competitive

  1. I love the Mr Men and Little Miss series! My favourites were always Mr Bump and Little Miss Sunshine. My family would probably say I’m Little Miss Contrary (but obviously I would disagree :-))

  2. little miss tired. standing on your feet all day is draining. And I’m jealous…zabars=heaven.

  3. I love the mental image of you training for the olympic pilates team. So funny! I’m glad that it worked! My ways of pushing myself when exercising are much more embarrassing. Like, if I’m running, I’ll pretend that I’m running to deliver an important message that will save the world as we know it. I kind of have a hero complex. Ha!

  4. Do I spy challah? Yummm 🙂 Goodluck on your first 5k and have fun!

  5. Challah is one of my favorite foods ever.

  6. I want one of those little miss magnet things so much! and can’t find it anywhere! How long ago did you get yours?

Leave a Reply

