Tuna steak and cupcakes, but not tuna steak cupcakes

Rain was pouring down in the city off and on all day. I had the pleasure of getting stuck in a downpour on my way back from lunch. I didn’t have an umbrella, but I did have a cardigan. I ended up wrapping it around my head Fiddler on the Roof style and running back to work.

Rocking the babushka.

After work, the rain let up, so naturally it was time to take Hadley to the dog park.

Chris's sister took this picture on her last visit, but this is his typical dog park look.

Then, I made my way to Pilates. My Pilates instructor told me that it seems like I’m getting a lot stronger and that I’m keeping my legs straighter during the exercises. Success! I felt pretty dizzy during class, though, but I’m pretty sure its because I have to exercise without wearing my glasses. Once I put them on after the workout, I was fine. How do other glasses wearers deal with this issues? Unfortunately contacts aren’t an option for me.

I was super hungry after Pilates. Guess what I made for dinner …

Ceasar salad! But not just any ceasar salad, I made tuna steak ceasar salad. A friend recently convinced me that tuna steak is super easy to make. It turns out she was right. I bought two frozen tuna steaks from TJ’s, set them out to thaw while I was at Pilates, rubbed them with salt and pepper, and then cooked them in a frying pan for 3 minutes on each side. I added one steak to my ceasar salad. Instant fancy ceasar salad! Tomorrow, I’ll enjoy the second steak in a sandwich.

Tuna steak makes my salad seem fancy.

Learning how to make tuna steaks was a good lesson for me. Even if something seems hard to do in the kitchen at least check it out. It may be a lot easier than it seems.  I always was afraid to try cooking tuna steak, because it seemed difficult to cook it just right. Now I’m thinking about taking on homemade pasta this weekend, but we’ll see.

I spent the rest of my night watching HGTV. Kelley recently introduced me to this channel, and I’m hooked. Even though Chris and I are still ions away from buying, it’s fun to watch other people find their dream homes.

I winded down the evening making a batch of cupcakes to bring into the office tomorrow.

They all couldn’t fit into the container, so Chris and I were forced to eat one each. Such is life.

Want one?

What is your TV guilty pleasure?

6 responses to “Tuna steak and cupcakes, but not tuna steak cupcakes

  1. Babushkas rock. I often wear something like it at home while cleaning or when I know no on will be stopping by. I’ve never had tuna on a caesar salad before but am diggin the idea. Your cupcakes look awesome.

  2. Chips! ANd often I try to eat rice cakes instead–just love that salt and crispiness, after my usual mushy dinner:). I can’t wait to try your tuna caesar salad-yum!

  3. omg. I just got hooked to HGTV too!! like it’s bad… property virgins, selling new york, my first place, house hunters…i’ts taking over my DVR!!!

  4. Hadley is gorgeous! I just want to scratch his ears and rub his belly. Be very careful…HGTV is addictive. One day you’ll find yourself watching the seventh episode of a HouseHunters International marathon at 5:00 PM, still in your pyjamas. Dont say I didn’t warn you.

Leave a Reply

