Burn, Baby, Burn

Any other heart burn suffers out there? I always saw the Pepto commercials, but I never myself had to deal with the pink stuff until my second year of law school. My heartburn would get so bad at times that I would find myself calling Chris to come to my apartment with a carton of milk in the middle of the night. A friend of mine, who is much more knowledgeable about these things than I, said that milk helps being a base and all. I knew the heartburn had something to do with a mix of gaining weight, being stressed, and not eating as healthy as I should be, so I felt it was justified to attack me. I took some medicine and promised to get healthy later.

Now, I’ve gotten healthier (I could never say I’m completely healthy, what with my love for dark chocolate and a glass of wine). I’ve lost the weight I gained and try my best to eat healthy (I’ll really never fully stop stressing, it’s ingrained). Still heartburn gets me from time to time. Maybe it’s one of those get it once, have it for good type of things? Over the last two days I’ve had some major heart burn issues. The good news is that I reasoned buying fro yo for later was a good call, because it’s a dairy product. Fro yo is dairy right? Well, either way, I hope it helps …

Do you suffer from heartburn? Any advice on how to deal with a bout of it?

Besides my griping on heartburn, I’m excited to ring in the weekend. I’m planning on starting my evening on the treadmill to complete a 3 mile run. Now that Chris and I are running outside, we aren’t exactly sure how far we are running. I’m hoping to get a sense of how long it takes me to run on the treadmill, so I can have a better guestimate to our outdoors distance. How does mileage on the treadmill transfer to running on flat surfaces outside?

Following my run, I plan on grabbing dinner with a friend, and hopefully enjoying some wine from the sweet view my apartment complex’s shared patio provides of the city. That’s only if it’s doesn’t rain, of course, so here’s hoping for sunshine! What are your weekend plans?

2 responses to “Burn, Baby, Burn

  1. I suffer quite badly from heartburn at times. I try to avoid the things that I know trigger it like pastry and rich food. If I know that I’m going to eat that sort of stuff I make sure that I stick to plain food at other times and have an antacid on me. Unfortunately it’s something that runs in my family – both my parents are on long-term medication for it.

  2. for me time goes by faster outside cause it’s not boring like on the treadmill. Get the runkeeper app for when you run outside or a garmin. That’s what I use so there is no guess work.

Leave a Reply

