Running Advice Needed

Chris and I started our morning with a 25 minute run along the Hudson. It’s great being able to exercise together and to start the day in a positive manner. The one issue that we are both having is after our runs we are sore. My knees are a constant issue for me, and I try to manage them with Pilates, foam rolling, ibuprofen, and icing. However, my silly hips are bothering me today, too!

So far my work out schedule usually goes something like this for the week: 2 days running outside, 2 days Pilates, random outdoor activities or treadmill running on one day of the weekend, and 2 days off. I don’t want my running outside to throw off the rest of my workouts, so I need help.

So I ask you, runners of the blog world: How did you begin outdoor running? When you first started, did you experience similar aches and pains? What did you do to treat them? We are both fine on the treadmill, and may have to switch to one day treadmill, one day outside, but I’d really like to get two runs outdoors a week. Any suggestions are welcomed!

2 responses to “Running Advice Needed

  1. do a yoga/pilates day after the day of running so you rest and you can stretch out. STretch and ice after each run…no matter if you don’t feel pain or not!

    • Thanks for the advice! I usually switch up pilates days and running days and always stretch, ice, and foam roll after running. Hopefully over time my body will catch up with my wants about running.

Leave a Reply

