First Runs

Today Chris and I got up at 6:30 AM to go for a run. You read that right, friends and family. We got up. At 6:30AM. To run. Voluntarily. If you know me, then you probably aren’t shocked over the running part. But you are probably floored about the timing. I don’t do mornings. At all. I’ve been known to be a bit of a crank-monster before 8 AM, and we have a standing rule in our apartment about minimum talking in the morning. I’m just not a morning person.

So why’d we do it? For a while, Chris and I have been talking about taking our running off the treadmill and outside. I’ve tried to run after work a little, but it’s always so hot that I feel like I’m melting. Also, my schedule of always working out following the work day means that Chris and I never get to work out together. He works longer hours than I, and often can’t make it to the gym in the evenings at all.

We agreed last week that we would start a new habit this week. We will get up early twice a week and go for a run together. Our goal is to run either a 5K or participate in a Rugged Maniac by July’s end. Today was a lovely start to a new tradition. The alarm went off, and I was feeling pretty awake. In fact, Hadley was the sleepiest (dog hates mornings, he’s well trained). We ran only 25 minutes, and in Chris’s words “we didn’t break any speed records”, but we did it. And we did it together. I’m so excited and proud of us taking a step to work out together as a couple.

How did you train for your first 5K? Do you work out as a couple, with friends, or alone?

2 responses to “First Runs

  1. i do NOT run with Glenn. He is way too fast and pushes me to run faster and that annoys the f*ck out of me. Make sure you don’t push yourself too hard as well cause I got shin splints. 😦

  2. Chris and I are both equally slow right now – if anything I’m the trouble maker because I used to be a cross country back in high school, so he helps me keep the pace I need since we are just starting out.

Leave a Reply

