Mamoun’s v Maoz

Lauren and I are on a quest to find our favorite falafel place. To achieve this goal, we have to try lots of different falafel. Hard, I know. Two weeks ago, we tried out Mamoun’s. This week, it was time to try out a popular falafel chain, Maoz. I’ve heard good things about Maoz from friends, but in general I’m always weary to try out any chain place (including Mamoun’s which is a smaller chain), because I never find chains to be good as individual restuarants. Still, it was on the list of falafel places, so last night we hit it up.

One of their many locations.

We both order falafel pitas. I chose to add feta to mine (everything is better with feta) and paired it with a soda. It came out to a little under $9. This was more expensive than the uber cheap Maumod’s, but still cheap for NYC standards.

Maoz works by giving you a pita stuffed with only lettuce and falafel (and in my case feta). Then you hit up their extensive salad bar to stuff your pita. The only problem is, it was hard to choose from all their options. This is what happened:

How does one eat this?

 I learned that I cannot properly stuff a pita. My pita was so overstuffed that I lost a falafel ball to the floor. This was pretty sad, until I tried the falafel and decided it didn’t have much flavor. In fact, the whole thing just didn’t taste right. The feta was chewy and tasteless – I never don’t like feta so this was a big thing – and a lot of the pickled veggies tasted sort of sweet. Really, the whole thing was just odd and a disappointment. So Mamoun’s v Maoz? Definately Mamoun’s.

After our disappointing dinner, Lauren and I decided we needed something reliably tasty. We took a walk and grabbed Italian ices. Lauren was sweet and bought mine for my belated birthday, so I went all out and threw some custard on top to celebrate.

Mint chocolate chip and cheesecake ices topped with chocolate custard. Yum!

 When I came home, I found Hadley hiding from the heat. This dog just does not do warm weather. Give him snow, and he’ll play in it for hours. Give him sun, and you’ll find him here:

What? Caves are coolest.

Chris worked late so I took the time to do me-time things. I watched the Oprah finale I DVRed, which was a bit of a let down. Then I read Women’s Health in bed, and learned some great information. I just ordered a year-long subscription last night for $5 from a deal site. They offered me to add a subscription for Self for $2 additional. Lots of good magazines are coming my way!

What are your favorite me-time things to do? Favorite magazines?

4 responses to “Mamoun’s v Maoz

  1. Sorry Maoz was a disappointment. Its different here in Philly…its just better. No lettuce, more hummus and flavor. At least the other place was good!

    Also Self Magazine is the best!! It’s by far my favorite mag so I hope you enjoy it!

  2. So your falafel looks amazing but that is very depressing about the ball falling out and not being able to eat it. I hate when I overstuff then I have no clue how I’m gonna down it. At Rita’s I always get the same thing-vanilla custard with cherry ice. Um, apparently I need to try your creation because I did not know they had mint chocolate!

  3. i love love love self magazine. Healthy tips and just great articles without making you feel like a lazy slob!! Anyways, glad I tried mamouns!!

Leave a Reply

