Finally Some Homemade Hummus

I’m currently sitting here trying not to stress about the fact that NYC has a tornado warning. I’ve no clue about tornados, so I’m hoping the storm just passes us by. To distract my nervous thoughts, let’s take about hummus.  Homemade hummus to be exact. It’s something that has been on my 99 Before 30 list and can finally be crossed off! Check out my updated list.

Now I know homemade hummus is nothing new in the blog world. But it’s new to me. And maybe, it’s new to some of my readers. Or maybe you’ve read about it, but haven’t had a chance to try it out for yourself. So here’s my take on homemade hummus.

First off, its worth it. If you have a food processor (or maybe a blender?), try it out. Fresh hummus is one of the best things in the world to me, and the ability to personalize it is even more exciting. So here we go:

Homemade Hummus

Ingredients: 1 can of chickpeas, 2 TBS tahini, 1/4 cup juice from chickpea can, 1/2 tsp lemon juice, heavy sprinkling of garlic powder, pinch of crushed red pepper and cumin. Optional use of oil up to 1/4 cup.

Open up the can of chickpeas. When you drain out the water, measure out 1/4 cup to use later. Peel the chickpeas. Yes, this takes some time, but it’s worth it for that creamier consistency. Put on some tunes like I did and turn it into a chickpea shooting into the food processor game. See if your dog wants to play and eat the fallen chickpeas that didn’t make it into the food processor.

Most of them made it into the food processor.

Yum, chickpea shells.

 Add two tablespoons of tahini into the food processor. I’ve read that tahini can be hard to find and expensive. I picked up a container for $2.50 at Trader Joe’s. You got to love TJ’s. Some recipe suggest to use more, but I found this to be a good amount.

 

Add in chickpea juice that you set aside.

This looks less than lovely.

 Add your seasonings. Go heavy on the garlic and moderate on the crushed red pepper and cumin.

Hit the chop function on your food processor and blend until creamy. I let my go for approximately 1.5 – 2 mintues. The recipe I used suggested adding up to 1/4 cup of oil that you drizzle in as the rest is processing. I forgot to do this (great chef, yes), but when I realized later, I choose to not add any. It tasted delicious sans olive oil and it only made it that much healthier (though, yes olive oil is good fat).

I set it out, but forgot it all the same.

 The verdict? Homemade hummus is yummy! I suggest making it a day before you intend to eat it. It was good that night, but it was super special the next day. And the day after that. The flavors seem to need some time to come together, and when they do, it’s magic. I’ll finish up this batch tomorrow and then probably make a new one right away. 

Delicious!

8 responses to “Finally Some Homemade Hummus

  1. literally sitting here reading this eating grocery store hummus. i fail.

  2. I love homemade hummus! All stuff I always have around the house, easy and quick to make. Glad it was something you could cross off your list.
    If you want something different and have it around, you should try roasted red pepper or olives in there, too.

  3. Sorry I have been so MIA recently, busy busy busy! I adore hummus and making it at home is so much cheaper than buying it already packaged…and it probably tastes better too. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Pingback: My second most favorite activity | Big City, Baby Carrots

  5. I never thought to peel the chickpeas… might try that next time if I’m feeling patient!

Leave a Reply

