Too Much Good Food is Still Too Much

Yesterday was a glorious day. We inched our way into the 80’s for the first time in so long. Immediately after work, I took Hadley to the dog park. He ran around in the heat for a good hour and played up a storm. When we left the park, he lied down and refused to get up. I tried to get him to move, but to no avail. Finally, I just carried the lazy bum inside. He’s not spoiled or anything.

Hadley passed out on the hardwood floor fully exhausted while I got out of my play clothes and into nicer duds for dinner with my parents. Chris joined us and we headed out to a brick oven pizza place. My parents brought a cake for me to the restaurant, and I drew a lot of attention. A woman insisted I cut her in the bathroom line as my birthday gift. I actually thought this was a pretty awesome gift.

My dad, Chris, and I split a well done pie with extra cheese and mushroom. Asking for a pizza pie well-done is my pizza ordering trick. It makes the pizza so much better when they do it right. Last night, they did it right and the three of us polished off the whole pie, while my mom munched healthily on her salad. The meal was ended with my yummy birthday cake.

To make up for the extravagance of the past few days, today I am eating healthy all the way. Breakfast was greek yogurt mixed with Honey Bunches of Oats. This is my favorite breakfast ever. Lunch was also pretty great: white rice, broccoli, and a Morningstar Chick Patty all mixed together with a pear. Of course, I’ve been snacking on baby carrots throughout the day. My goal of the weekend is to eat healthy every meal with the potential exception for Saturday night when I’m going out with friends for my birthday. It will be a bit of a challenge, since I’ve been off the healthy eating wagon this past week. Also, my best friend from college, Kelley, is visiting this long weekend, and one of our favorite things to do together is try out different foods and bake. We will just have to focus on eating healthy!

Now I ask you a question. Warmer months means more visitors. We had visitors last weekend, and I ate horribly (wonderfully, but horribly). We are having the lovely Miss Kelley this weekend. We are sure to have more visitors in the near future. When people come to visit, you want to take to your favorite places to eat. Often, those aren’t the healthiest places – they are often your “treat” places. This past weekend, we went with our guests to a great pub, Good Restaurant, Grom gelato, our favorite Indian, place, our favorite Italian place, etc. All were so so yummy, but  I know that my body isn’t the best for it now. What are your suggestions for eating healthy when you still want to show off your favorites to your guest? Hopefully, I’ll have some recs for you after this weekend!

2 responses to “Too Much Good Food is Still Too Much

  1. I had this same problem this past weekend!! My bf’s parents were in town and we were constantly eating out. By the last day I kind of took myself out the eating out tab by eating leftovers from the night before at home before we left, and only ordering a soup at the restaurant. Our fridge needed a clean out without throwing food away, my bf’s restaurant bill needed a break, and my body needed a time out. This was my only solution without being a party pooper!

  2. jesus, if i lived in nyc i’m sure I would this problem as well!! Either way when I go out of town or if people come visit me this is definitely a challenge. What I do is i eat well before and after their visit. Take them to the restaurants but get a salad or soup and ONE slice of pizza (if it’s a pizza joint) or a vegetarian option…just don’t eat it all….it’s hard for me to say no to sweets but i’ll take a few bites and “trash it”..i know it screams eating disorder but if it’s not destroyed with a napkin or in a trash i’ll eat the whole dessert.

Leave a Reply

