Out of Whack

You know what’s good about vacations? Relaxing, exploring new places, trying new cuisines, taking in some sun, etc.

You know what’s bad about vacation? No, Pilates.

During my week and a half vacation, I wasn’t able to do any Pilates (I was on a ship, which made getting to my Pilates studio hard). But Allie, you say, you’ve been back from vacation for over a week. Yes, you’re right; I have been back for over a week. In that time I went to Pilates once. That’s no good. I usually go Monday/Wednesday but last week I decided to catch up on the many errands I had piled up from over vacation. I figured I could go Tuesday/Thursday. I went Tuesday, but then realized I couldn’t go on Thursday, because I had to leave to go to my parent’s that evening. I was going home for a very good reason – my little brother’s college graduation! –alas, I was missing Pilates all the same.

Pilates is what keeps my misaligned body (my knees are out of whack and they throw everything else off) in working condition. Since I’ve been skipping out on Pilates and continuing to run, I’ve gone from running-is-fun to oh-my-gosh-I’m-dying. After my run yesterday, I feel like I’m waddling today. I literally can feel that my hips down are all out of line. Absolutely no good and kind of freaky. So it’s back to Pilates for good starting this evening. It’s going to hurt, I’m going to be sore tomorrow, and I’ll probably be embarrassed because I can’t hold the poses I could before vacation. But, I’m going and that’s what’s important.

Another downside of vacation is that you get off your diet. I finally (wo)maned up and weighed myself yesterday. I’m up a pound and a half. Not a tragedy, but something I need to remedy this week. If I don’t fix it this week, I’m sure that the scale will continue its merry weigh upwards. Why you ask? Because next week is my birthday! Because I am a five year old at heart, I enjoy celebrating my birthday for as long as possible. So far I have been promised cake from my parents, boyfriend, and best friend on the day before my birthday for a family dinner, my actual birthday, and the day of my birthday party. Clearly I have to keep to a good diet this week to make up for the frosting induced coma I will be in from roughly May 22 – May 28th. Hopefully, Pilates will whip my body back into shape so that I can do my best to up my running. I will most definitely run for cake.

What exercises does your body need to main its status quo? What do you run for?

4 responses to “Out of Whack

  1. pilates is amazing, especially yoga/pilates combos. don’t fret it, your body definitely will get back to where you want it. here’s to a wonderful week! xo

  2. A pound of a half up is fantastic for a cruise holiday – don’t people usually gain at least half a stone 🙂

    Reading this has inspired me to do my yoga practice tonight. I was going to skip it, but I know it helps me with the various running injuries I’ve got on the go at the moment.

  3. Well 1.5lb is after a week back in the real world. I’m sure it was more like 3lbs right after the cruise. Chris and I made sure to work out the nights we were planning on eating big and weren’t too hungry during the day due to the heat so that helped.

    I’m happy to have inspired you! That means a lot to me.

  4. omfg. I sucked during my honeymoon…i usually walk alot or work out in the hotel gym but this time I totally relaxed….and ate dessert 2x a day..I figure it’s my “once in a lifetime” vacay so I should just GO with it….hence tight pants. 😦

Leave a Reply

