Playing Hostess

Passover begins tonight! Chris and I are hosting my family for sedar tomorrow night. This will be our 3rd sedar together, but the first one we host for my family. In fact, it will be the first sedar I am able have with my family since Junior year in college. Usually Passover falls both around finals and in the middle of the week, so I can’t make it home. Since I now live close to my family, my mom, dad, and brother are coming tomorrow night to celebrate with Chris, Hadley, and I.

I have made and remade my menu several times now. Originally I wanted to go with an entirely vegetarian menu, but my dad strongly vetoed that idea. We agreed that I’ll make all the veggie dishes and he will bring along the meat. In the end, I’ll be cooking up matzah ball soup, matzah veggie lasagna, mashed potatoes, spaghetti squash, steamed broccoli, and a flourless chocolate cake. Just typing that all out makes me schvitz. Lots of work to do!

Thankfully, Chris is going to make it home tonight to help me start the cooking. I’m not much of a baker, so I’ll need his help in making the cake. The mashed potatoes are all his, too, because he makes the best mashed potatoes I have ever tasted. The rest I will spend all day tomorrow making, because I have the day off from work to master this entire menu. Obviously this is way too much food for our small sedar, but I figure it will keep me eating well most of Passover. Also, don’t under estimate the eating power of Jews. We tend to pack it in on the holidays. 🙂

What are your Passover plans? Or upcoming Easter plans? Do you plan on hosting any of the meals?

5 responses to “Playing Hostess

  1. I’m not planning on hosting any meals but I am spending Easter weekend in New York with some of my best friends 🙂

  2. I’m going to brunch at my mom’s and trying to skip the rest of the meals (is that horrible?) it’s just way too much food!!!!

  3. I agree on the too much food! But Passover works like this: gorge first two nights, starve the next seven, so I guess it evens out.

  4. Let me know how this turns out, the menu sounds DELISH!!!

  5. Katherine: Unemployed

    good luck hostessing! I love this season of celebrations

Leave a Reply

