Where’d you get that dress?

When I was young, I wasn’t a girly girl at all. I hated dresses, hated pink (still hate purple), and was much more comfortable in overalls, cut-off shorts, and tee-shirts. I’m pretty sure that I had a notion that I was Huck Finn or at least Becky Thatcher.

Scout Finch from to Kill A Mockingbird. I would have wanted her overalls as a kid. Also, my family dog is named after her.

Source

Flash forward to high school and my sense of fashion turned itself on. Somewhat. I still had a penchant for some odd choices – bright colored everything and sparkles. Oh gosh did I love glitter. I once glittered a pair of jeans in my basement using Elmer’s glue and you guessed it, glitter. My mom wanted to have my head for glitterizing the entire basement and the jeans turned out to be one wear only. Who would’ve thunk?

I was also really into stuff like this nail polish.

Source

Sometime towards the end of college, I honed in and now own my sense of style. I love dresses, don’t blanch from most colors (except I still haven’t gotten over the purple thing), and like sparkles limited to touches and accessories. Now that I have figured out my sense of style – girly and vintage with an urban flair – I want to recommend some of my favorite online sites to oggle shop at.

ModCloth: I first fell in love with this site back in 2008 when they were a much smaller operation. Now they have gained in popularity so their stock-size is ever increasing. Their prices have somewhat gone up, but they have wonderful 70% off sales twice-yearly where you can always stock up on your favorite finds. ModCloth has a limited vintage collection and a large vintage-inspired collection. I own several dresses from them and almost always love my purchases. I also love that their customer service is so hands on. I’ve spoken with them for fit advice, which they are always helpful with, and once when the post service lost my dress, they sent me another one no-hassle and free of charge.

Excellent color and one one of ModCloth's most popular dresses.

Source

Ruche: I discovered Ruche last year while trying to procrastinate from finals studying. I remember running in to tell Chris that I found a clothing site that perfectly got my style. Their pieces are romantic, girly, whimiscal and well priced. I also love the bright colored dresses they are currently showing. I can’t comment on their customer services, as I haven’t dealt with them, but I do enjoy that they keep an updated blog on their website. It makes shopping feel more like a community experience. Also, their lookbooks make me drool and want to order every piece.

I love this, but how does one style a lace skirt?

Souce

Shabby Apple: This is a site I have only just discovered myself through other bloggers. I have yet to order from them, but I did spend a good hour swooning over their website yesterday. They seem to get vintage demure and sexy spot on. I loved playing around with their Fit Guide feature that allowed me to get suggestions of dresses best for my body type. Their price points are somewhat higher than the other two sites, but whereas few dresses on ModCloth and Ruche are semi-professional dress code appropriate, most Shabby Apple dresses look like they could seamlessly bounce back between work and play. I cannot wait to find an opportunity to buy a dress from them. In the very least, I am choosing a couple to set a good tone at my new job beginning next Fall.

For work and play.

For play. I do have a birthday coming up.

Source

Lulus: I come here for the shoes. The clothing is a little too young for me, but my college self would be all over some of their options. Their shoe selection is just right for twenty-five year old me. I’m one of those people who never seems to buy expensive shoes (see exception: boots), but rather, likes to have lots of different affordable cute options. Lulus is the perfect place to find in-fashion low-priced shoes. My favorite shoes I ordered where my graduation heels. They are beige low pumps with ruffles over the toes. Not only did they randomly match my tassle (which strangely many people pointed out), they look way more expensive than they were, still look great a near year later, and were mighty wearable.

Current lust: I'm all about green lately. It's so spring.

Source

Those are my favorite online sites, but now that I live in NYC and no longer must rely on online shopping alone (a downside of living in the country), I also love to shop at the GAP, Ann Taylor Loft, DSW, Nordstrom’s Rack, and my slightly out-of-reach-but-I-love-it-anyway Anthropologie (see: cropped jacket I’ve been living in). Oh this was a fun post to write!

Where do you love to shop? Have you recently found any online shopping gems?

One response to “Where’d you get that dress?

  1. I enjoy shopping for jeans- much more than jeans! Great dresses & sites.

Leave a Reply

