Leftover Inspiration

Cooking is made even easier when you have some leftovers to throw into the mix. Last night, I had two leftovers that needed eating: ahi tuna and white rice. Adding leftovers to my cooking both motivates me to cook (can’t let that food go bad!) and gives me inspiration what to cook (what to do with rice and tuna?). Some people treat leftovers as whole meals, I tend to use them as ingredients.

Last night, I was craving lots of veggies. That’s when I allowed my creative side to take over, and did one of my “throw everything into a bowl” bowls. They tend to come out delicious.

I sliced up most every veggie we had in the fridge – green pepper, yellow squash, yellow onion, broccoli, and asparagus and sautéed it up. I crumbled in some tofu to add some extra protein. Then I remembered I had recently picked up this beauty at the local health food store:

Source

Don’t mind the name – it’s vegetarian. It’s just suggested to go on chicken. I really suggest trying out this sauce. It has a lot of flavor and is only mildly spicy. Also a little bit seems to go along way in the flavor department. I added a 1/4 cup to my veggie/tofu mess and then seasoned with salt, pepper, cumin, curry powder, ginger, and turmeric. I got a little spice heavy, but seasoning is a fun way to put a no-calorie twist on a meal. Plus it makes the apartment smell really good.

I enjoyed my veggies over the leftover rice and added the few left over ahi tuna pieces to the bowl just to top it off. I made so many veggies, that my leftovers made leftovers! I got to spice up my usually boring lunch today by bringing leftover veggies and tofu to work. I paired them with a tortilla and it was a yummy combination.

Do you cook with your leftovers or just eat them separately?

5 responses to “Leftover Inspiration

  1. I really like the idea of using leftovers as an ingredient! I’m always trying to spice them up but usually just eat them as is.

  2. That sounds really good, I love all the veggies you used.

    I love cooking with my leftovers. I will cook up veggies for a dish one night then keep them in the fridge for later in the week and add to pasta, rice, tacos, etc.

  3. I do both! I also do a lot of “throw everything in a bowl” meals 🙂

  4. I usually put my leftovers in the freezer and then eat them as a meal in themselves. If I’ve only got a little bit leftover then I usually just eat it as a snack.

    I’m feeling inspired to use them as ingredients though 🙂

  5. I love roll-over recipes where I can use leftovers from one meal in prep for a new meal! Great way to use up food and yet have a whole new meal, too!

Leave a Reply

