Mission Eat the Perishables

After work yesterday, I fed Hadley as usual. I’m getting to the point where I have a lot of things in my fridge that need to be eaten, so I decided to spice things up for him by mixing in a veggie Big Frank’s hot dog. Does anyone else’s dog like vegetarian meat? Hadley loves these “hot dogs”.

What do you mean it's not a real hot dog?

After taking care of Hadley, I went to Pilates. We did something new since we had a small class of only four people. We were each given two small rubber balls. We went through our movements and had to either balance a ball on our stomachs while doing positions (seriously hard when you are bicycling your legs) or place them between our ankles or thighs and keeping them there during our movements. I actually really liked the challenge. I felt my ab muscles more than usual, since I was concentrating on my placement so much. Also, it felt like I was playing some sort of human arcade game, so the workout went fast.

All about ball control.

Source

Post working out, I was starving. Our visitors went into the city to meet Chris to have a “man dinner” at Keens Steakhouse. That left me to my own creativity for dinner. I had nothing in mind to cook, so I played a game where I put all the food that needs to be eaten before it spoils out on my counter and stared at it. Like I said, a lot was getting ready to go bad soon.

Hmm ...

When the food didn’t cook itself, I (wo)maned up and did it myself. This may be one of my more interesting concoctions, but it was good. I took the baked potato and zapped it up in the microwave. I know that baking a potato in the oven tastes much better, but it also takes forever, so I usually rely on my microwave here. While it cooked, I sautéed the red onion, broccoli, asparagus, and tofu together.

Still not really sure what I'm making.

My initial idea was to stuff the potato with the vegetables. But then I would be neglecting the refried beans, and they really did need to be eaten. So I chopped up the potato, added a layer of refried beans, mixed some shredded cheese in with the veggies through in some avacado and olives and created some sort of large skillet like dish. I naturally topped it with my go-to low fat sour cream. I think there was some hot sauce, too. Judge away, but this creation was filling, delicious, and full of veggie goodness. What weird but yummy kitchen creations have you made?

 

You can't even tell all that's going on that bowl.

 

I wound down my night watching Grey’s Anatomy. I was so sad I was watching it alone, because it really deserved both a viewing party and a glass of wine. It was their musical episode, and I really wanted to hate it, but I was actually pretty amused by it. I especially like that while everyone else was singing, they had Meredith and Derrick out of the scenes. Maybe they are tone deaf like me? Did you watch the Grey’s Anatomy musical last night?  

 

Stop what your operating on and sing your hearts out.

 

Source

One response to “Mission Eat the Perishables

  1. Haha it’s always hard when you have some ingredients going bad, because you have to try to come up with a crazy recipe to use them up!! Looks like you did a great job 🙂

Leave a Reply

