Swearing-In and Awards

I’ve had a busy long weekend that I was sad to see come to an end. Friday I went to Friday Night services for the first time at a new temple, which I really enjoyed. I followed services with a long and leisurely dinner with two friends. We went to a new place selling itself on fresh harvest foods. It was also BYBO – always a plus. We split the guac and chips and I splurged on a pasta dish with fresh veggies and mozzarella. We ended the night splitting two desserts – both the molten lava cake and bread pudding were decadently delicious.

Saturday started with a wonderful brunch, which I plan to recap in a later Foodie Friday post. Then, I went out to visit my friends Michelle and Frank who just moved into a lovely new apartment together in Central Jersey. It was fun to visit and to hang out in some of my old haunts. Sunday started with book club – pictures to come tonight – and ended with my mom coming to spend the night. Chris, my mom, and I enjoyed a giant salad for dinner followed by mango sherbet for dessert.

Monday was the big event. I got sworn into the NY Bar. Officially lawyered! The ceremony was really nice. It was held in a beautiful courtroom and was short, sweet, and to the point. We got to recite the oath and then we were attorneys. Crazy. Call me esquire. 😉

Want.

Source

So after the nice long weekend, I wasn’t 100% looking forward to go back to the grind. But then when I woke up this morning and checked my blog, I was happy to see that I received my first blogging award! What a great way to start a shortened week. My Wandering Spoon – one of my favorite blogs for recipe inspiration – awarded me with The Circle of Friendship Award.

The Circle of Friendship Award goes out to 10 other bloggers whose blogs inspire me with their creative recipes, thoughtful posts, and amusing life stories. They also are bloggers who offer comments on my blog that are both encouraging and make this whole blogging thing worthwhile. I could probably make a list that goes on and on, but here are my ten bloggers for the Circle of Friendship Award:

–          Tiffany at Simply Shaka

–          Diana at My Marble Rye

–          Sarah at Every Day’s a Picnic

–          Ashley at Run With Me

–          Lofty Appetite

–          Hungry Child in the City

–          Stephanie at Love Life Project

–           Madeline at Greens and Jeans

–          Kristina at Life as Kristina

–          Alex at Healing Beauty

17 responses to “Swearing-In and Awards

  1. Awwww thanks for including me friend:)
    And HUGE CONGRATS on being sworn in!!!!!!! WOOHOOO!!!!!

  2. Thank you for the award 🙂
    Congratulations on being officially lawyered – very exciting! Looking forward to the brinch recap – I love reading about the great meals people eat.

  3. Wow thanks for the award!! I’ve also been meaning to tell you (but i cant make comments when i’m reading on my cell phone) that your Vegetarian anniversary posts have helped me figure out what to eat on Fridays while I’m trying to be a good Catholic and observe Lent. I dont eat meat every night of the week, but for some reason on Fridays its really hard because I tend to go out or cook with my bf. So on Friday we made tacos, but I was able to eat them without feeling deprived, inspired by your veggie fiesta bowl! Congrats on the NY bar, that’s a huge deal it’s one of the hardest!! Sincerely, Mila (yes, i do have a name 🙂 )

  4. OMG this is my first blogger award!!!! I am so honored!!! Thank you!!! I love your blog because it’s honest and real, something I appreciat. In related news: CONGRATS ON PASSING THE BAR!!!!!!! That is such an awesome accomplishment!!!!

  5. Congratulations on being sworn in!!! My brother just took the NY bar in February.

  6. Awww, thanks for the shout-out.

    You passed the bar. You have been lawyered. This is HUGE! You must feel a bit overwhelmed and untethered right now…I imagine that you spent so much time prepping for the bar and now it’s done. Wow. Congratulations!

    • I was done with the Bar in July, found out the results in October, and have slowly been moving along w the process of getting fully admitted. It feels fabulous after so long to finally be done. Thanks so much for your support!

  7. Thanks for tagging me again, how fun 🙂

    Congrats on officially being a lawyer now! One of my besties is a lawyer and we went to a bar one night and these creepers were hitting on us. They asked us our names and I told them “I’m Habeas and this is my girl, Corpus” They thought I was serious. Sounds like you had a full weekend as well, I love those where you pack so much in and the time flies (don’t love the time flying of course)

  8. Pingback: This Weeks Loves #8 | Big City, Baby Carrots

  9. has to be the best award i’ve ever recieved! thank you so much! and WATCH OUT – look at you getting all lawyered officially. i can’t even imagine what an accomplishment that is! so excited for you friend!

  10. Pingback: Why Do You Blog? | Hungry Child In The City

  11. Alex @ Healing Beauty

    Thank you so much for including me in this award! It really made my whole day. I’m sorry it took so long for me to respond!

Leave a Reply

