Veggiversary Week: Mexican Pizza

For lunch yesterday, I repeated Monday’s meal of a chick salad sandwich on a toasted English muffin. Once again, yum.

Same thing, still good.

For dinner, I was craving pizza something fierce and decided to get creative in the kitchen. I didn’t have pizza sauce nor did I have a pizza crust. I did have taco sauce and a large tortilla. Thus, Mexican pizza was born:

Before going into the oven.

Mexican Pizza

1 Large Tortilla Shell (I used a version that came in at only 110 calories!)

Enough Mexican blend shredded cheese to lightly cover entire tortilla

1/4 Green pepper

1/4 White onion

2 TBS Black olives

Taco Sauce

Light Sour Cream

Lie the tortilla shell out flat. Sprinkle on a light layer of cheese. Don’t put cheese on the outermost part of the shell to create a crust. Slice green pepper and onion and layer on tortilla. Add olives. Drizzle taco sauce to taste. Bake at 350 degrees for ten minutes. Allow to cool. Add dollop of Light Sour Cream. Slice and enjoy!

Out of the oven and ready to be devoured.

It came out wonderful and was a super tasty. I was afraid it would crumble when I sliced it with a pizza cutter, but it stayed together. Since the tortilla was huge, I got to feel that I was eating an entire pizza without the guilt of eating an entire pizza. I’ll be making this again!

3 responses to “Veggiversary Week: Mexican Pizza

  1. I adore Mexican food. Those pizzas look mouthwatering. I could easily eat a few of them at one go.

  2. mmm, these sound fantastic! thanks for the ideas 🙂

  3. mmm…chicken salad is one of my favs! and that pizza looks delish!

    cute blog – i’ll definitely be back again soon : )
    cheers!
    cailen

    http://www.cailenascher.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

