Eating Hearts Out

When walking home from work yesterday a sign caught my eye “Artichokes 99 CENTS”. I decided it would be fun to buy one and incorporate it into my meal. I came home after Pilates and realized I had no  clue how to cook an artichoke. Neither did Lauren. Thankfully Chris said, put it in a pot of water and boil it. Okay, I can do that.

Intimidating.

While the artichoke boiled, Lauren and I prepped the rest of our dinner. We chopped up scallions and tomatoes and prepped some broccoli cheddar cous-cous. We waited and waited for the artichoke to cook through. Apparently they take a while. When it was finally done, we  didn’t like how the leaves tasted – Chris insisted you eat them, but I’m not sure – so we chopped through to the heart. It was sad that our giant artichoke resulted in us eating a tiny heart. But it was a yummy heart. Oh this just sounds wrong. I’m don’t even eat meat!

Chopping.

How do you eat these?

We mixed the artichoke heart, scallions, and tomatoes in with the cous-cous, added tofu and chickpeas, and topped with feta.

Before mixing it all together.

It was filling, tasty, and fun to cook a new vegetable. On tonight’s plate is another veggie I’ve never cooked  before: Brussel Sprouts. Try any new vegetables lately?

2 responses to “Eating Hearts Out

  1. I love artichokes, but never cook them for the same reason…so intimidating!!! I feel like I won’t get it right. I did recently make brussel sprouts and they were soooo good and super duper easy. I posted the recipe on my blog, if you want to try it out!

  2. I’ll look at it – I ended up not cooking tonight because I hurt my back so I still have to make them soon.

Leave a Reply

