Homemade Instant Oatmeal Packets

Yesterday I finally got around to making Homemade Instant Oatmeal packets. I got the basic recipe off of this website mentioned in this NYT article. I was inspired to make my own packets, because of several reasons. Making my own packets allows me to experiment with lots of different add-ins. I can make any combo that I can dream up. Making lots of packets at once, instead of new ones every morning, allows me to save precious morning time. I am anything but a morning person. Most importantly, since I eat Quaker instant packets every morning, I go through a lot of oatmeal. Instant oats aren’t cheap, especially in my area, so making my own packets ultimately saves me money.

Here’s what you’ll need for the basic oatmeal:

Quick oats, sugar, salt, and sealable bags. That’s it. Fill each bag with 1/4 cup of quick oats. Add 1/8 teaspoon of salt and 1/2 teaspoon of sugar.  

Basic oatmeal packets.

Now time to jazz up your oatmeal:

The Quick Oat container filled 20 bags, so I decided to make 4 different types of oatmeal. I used the following for add-ins:

Chocolate Coconut Cream Oatmeal: Add 1 tablespoon of non-dairy creamer, a pinch of shredded coconut, and a few chocolate chips. Be sure to use non-dairy creamer, as powdered milk may spoil over time.

Cinnamon Raisin Oatmeal: Sprinkle in cinnamon and add about a dozen raisins.

Cranberry Chocolate Chip Cookie Oatmeal: Add about a dozen cranberries, a few chocolate chips, and 1/8 teaspoon of vanilla flavoring.

Peanut Butter Cup Oatmeal: Add chocolate chips now. The morning you plan on eating the oatmeal, add desired amount of PB.

These are just how I choose to jazz up my oatmeal. You can add whatever you enjoy most. I had the Chocolate Coconut Cream this morning, and I prepared it just as I would any other instant oatmeal. Look at me being a money-saver!

How would you jazz up your oatmeal?

5 responses to “Homemade Instant Oatmeal Packets

  1. I’m super boring–I like brown sugar and maple syrup or cranberries and almonds. My friend Jen likes to add pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice–the extra fiber keeps her from getting hungry mid-morning.

  2. Wow is it really that simple? I like the idea of flavored creamer. My desk at work is stock piled with emergency instant oatmeal. I might as well try making my own. I like knowing what’s in my food and not having any extra, snuck in, hard to pronounce additives, so this is perfect!

  3. What a great idea! Perfect for on-the-go & busy days!

Leave a Reply

