Foodie Friday: Agave

140 7th Avenue South, New York

Last night was fabulously fun. I meet my friend Jaclyn for dinner at Agave. I planned on being brave and ordering their Squash Blossom tacos, but they were all out! I suppose lots of other people were intrigued by the idea of flower tacos, too. My curiosity is now whetted, and I want to try these out. Has anyone ever tried Squash Blossoms?

Yum?

Source

Instead of flowers, Jac and I decided to split a guacamole app. The guac was super fresh and came with pico, sour cream, and blue corn chips. The serving size was so large that the two of us couldn’t finish it all. It did come in at a hefty price for guac at $12, but since you could probably split this three ways it’s not so bad.

While we waited for dinner, Jac sipped on a Blood Orange margarita. I didn’t order one, because I had a headache all day, but I tried hers and it was awesome. Agave is known for their extensive drink menu – especially their tequila – and this marg was something special. They are also popular for their jalapeño infused margs, but being that I am not a fan of jalapeño’s, I didn’t sample one.

Happy Hour prices are supposedly reasonable.

Source

For dinner, I decided to try one of their many eclectic quesadilla options. I ordered the Asparagus, Goat Cheese, and Roasted Tomato quesadilla. The best thing about it was the asparagus. I haven’t had asparagus in a while, and I forgot how much I enjoy it. Since it’s in season, I will have to buy some soon. Overall, the main course wasn’t anything special. Though the veggies were good, the cheese was kind of bland, which is odd since goat cheese usually has a strong flavor. It wasn’t bad or anything, it just wasn’t memorable.

This restaurant is a great place to come during happy hour, sample some of their many yummy drink options, and split and app with a friend or two. The décor makes you feel that you entered a cave with a distinct Southwestern vibe without being overly themed. The space is large, which is something I always appreciated in NYC. So many restaurants in the City are so small that you find yourself sitting on top of everyone. I would definitely be interested in going back, if only for that Blood Orange marg.

Source

4 responses to “Foodie Friday: Agave

  1. Those margarita flavours sound incredible – I wonder what prickly pear margarita tastes like?

  2. you definitely have to tell me how those tacos are once you try them! and that drink menu? AMAZING!

  3. I love the decor of that place. I could totally go for some Latin Passion right now!

Leave a Reply

