Do Pilates and You Can Hike Too

Like my infomercial title? 

This past weekend, Chris, Hadley, and I went to a B&B in Upstate NY. I’ll post about the entirety of our trip later when I upload all the pretty pictures.  Right now I want to talk about one of the best parts of our mini-vacation, a long hike through the Mohonk Preserve.

I’ve always loved nature and hiking is one of the best ways to experience it. However, since my knees are always bummy, I’ve had trouble doing long strenuous hikes in the past. This always upsets me, because I hate calling a hike short or having to stick to a flat path when everyone knows the most fun path is the one going straight up and giving you the best views.

Our Sunday hike was probably the best hike I have ever taken based not on sights, but rather on my level of ability. I hiked up hills in the snow in sneakers for around 2 hours and had little to no knee pain!

 I am pretty sure I started to sound like a Pilates infomercial while we were hiking. Every time I went to do something that in the past may have hurt my knees, I focused on drawing strength from my core like we learned in Pilates. It worked! I was able to make it to the top of the hill no problem and get the good views I craved without suffering. I was able to bound through the snow on slightly treacherous paths and not cry out from pain. It was fabulous.

So thank you Pilates. Building up my core strength and learning to focus on drawing from my core muscles, such as my abs and thighs, has been such a beneficial lesson. I am officially hooked to Pilates and aspire to become a true Pilates-nut. I had no clue that it was going to help my knees so much, but quickly after starting I realized that going up stairs wasn’t hurting my IT-bands and knees like it has for years. I started to read up more on Pilates and learned that its wonderful for people like me with joint issues. I plan on rearranging my budget and figuring out how to continue to pay for classes after my Groupon runs out.

So if you have knee problems like I do, I really recommend giving Pilates a shot. It is really helping me so far and it’s only been 3 weeks. It also helps tone muscles – my friend just told me the other day I looked so much smaller and I haven’t dropped any pounds recently. I’m just toning up from my workouts. Pilates won’t help you lose weight, but it will give you lots of other benefits. So yes, that’s my infomercial for the day.

What are your experiences with Pilates?

Who doesn't love a good infomercial?

 

Source

2 responses to “Do Pilates and You Can Hike Too

  1. I love hiking – it sounds like you really enjoyed yourself over the weekend 🙂
    I did pilates for a few years and it really taught me about to draw strength from my core. I’m doing yoga instead at the moment and getting loads out of that as well – but I still use what I learned in pilates.

  2. That’s great to know. I’ve never enjoyed yoga in the past, but maybe when I get better at pilates, I will find yoga more fulfilling. One of my biggest problems with yoga is that I like flexibility, and I see that I am become more flexible through pilates.

Leave a Reply

