Oats in the News

Today the NYT featured an interesting article about my beloved oatmeal. I eat oatmeal almost every morning for breakfast. I find it soothing and more filling than most other breakfast options. I also prefer sweet to savory most mornings, so once again oatmeal comes out on top. In fact, I am currently eating a packet of Quaker’s Instant Maple Sugar oatmeal with some dark hot chocolate powder from my morning cocoa added in. Yum.

The article speaks towards how commercial food chains, specifically McDonald’s take something healthy like oatmeal, and completely ruin it. They add “oats, sugar, sweetened dried fruit, cream and 11 weird ingredients you would never keep in your kitchen.” And they charge you over $2 in NYC.

McDonald's oatmeal

Source

The article also provides a link that teaches you how to make your own oatmeal packets. Considering I hate spending the hyped up price of Quakers Instant in my area, and I know that it’s not the healthiest version of oats out there, I will be buying these ingredients (most which I already own), and try to make my own oatmeal ready-to-go packets soon.  

Some recommended ingredients.

Source

What would you put in your own oatmeal ready-to-go packets?

4 responses to “Oats in the News

  1. I saw this article as well and was planning on writing a post about it this evening. Nice to see that others have also noticed it. I personally have not tried McDonald’s oats, but I didn’t realize the amount of sugar that was in there!

  2. Interesting! I definitely went through a few years in college when I literally ate oatmeal (from the packet) every morning. I think it was when I discovered how cheap oats are and how much stuff is added into Quaker that I started looking for other options. My new staple breakfast is vanilla yogurt with dried fruit, nuts, and raw oats (yea, during my oatmeal phase I didn’t know you could eat oats raw!).
    I’ve never put coffeemate in oatmeal. you’ll have to write a follow up post after you make your own oatmeal packets!

  3. I’m totally with you on preferring sweet things to savoury in the morning, and oats is the best way to start the day.
    This was a really interesting post. I’ve always been suspicious of the oats that McDonalds and other fast food chains sell, but I’ve never looked into it. I’m not surprised that they’ve ruined it.
    I always make my oats at home, so I’ve never experimented with making my own ready-made packets. If I did it would definitely contain cinnamon like your’s, plus chopped dates and some milled flaxseed to top it with.

Leave a Reply

