Big News

I’ve already told the story of my dreadful knees, how I was a runner during high school, and how I had to give it up half-way through due to those dreadful knees. But, nine years after throwing my hands in the air and deciding I would never be able to run again, I decided to give it one more shot. I mean medicine advances; maybe the doctors and PT could fix me this time?

So I went to physical therapy and learned some drills and got back into running shape. I probably still cannot ever run long distances – I always say if I sign up for a marathon, I may as well just also sign up for a  knee replacement surgery right afterwards – but I am currently up to a small amount of mileage.

With that being said my big news: I am signing up for my first 5k in 9 years!!!!

My friend Kelley, who is also new to running, is going to participate with me. We found a race on April 9th in Jersey City, which seems cool because you run along the NYC skyline. I figure looking at the pretty view may keep me entertained. Plus, we get t-shirts! We haven’t signed up quite yet, but I think we will pretty soon.

To train for my 5K, I created a plan based on some plans I’ve read online. I already was up to two miles, when I started last week, but I was taking a two minute break between each mile. Last week, I focused on running the two miles straight. This week, I upped the mileage to 2.25 miles. I plan on going up .25 miles until I reach 3.5 miles, which is slightly longer than the 5K. I run all but my last mile at 10 minute pace currently, and my last mile as fast as I can, with my current best around a 7:55.

My goal by race day is to complete the 5K under 30 minutes, which I know isn’t a huge deal to most people, but to someone with shotty knees who hasn’t run in almost a decade, it’s a big deal.

What are you current fitness goals?

8 responses to “Big News

  1. My current fitness goals are to actually improve my fitness while I’m injured and off impact exercise. A challenge, but definitely doable. In particular I want to learn to swim well, get into the yoga habit and start lifting some heavier weights (developing some cool biceps along the way 🙂
    I’m looking forward to reading about your training as I hope to do a similar plan once I’m allowed to run again.

  2. Those are some good goals – I hope you recover soon!

  3. YAY! you’ll do awesome! balling runner status right now

  4. yay! you will do great.

  5. You have some great goals. I want to sign up for a 5k as well. I just need to figure out how to go about training.

    xo

  6. How exciting!!! You’ll rock it!

  7. I am so excited for you!!!!! I have one knee that is in really poor shape, so I totally understand where you are coming from. I often have to come home and ice after only 3 miles. I too have to up the milage slowly. I finally signed up for a 10k on May 14th in Central Park! I am taking my time getting to the finish line. If I have to walk some of it, I will. Good luck and just take everything one day at a time. So pumped for you! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

