Parisian Pizza

As I mentioned in an earlier post, one of Chris and my favorite things to do when we travel is to try out the local cuisine. Paris is by far my favorite city to take on this task. Every street is full of delicious restaurants, patisseries, and cafes. I started every morning of our trip off with a croissant and a café au lait. Lunches were usually light – a sandwich from a street vendor served on long crisp baguettes and filled with all sorts of goodies. Dinners were long and wonderful. One night, we even managed to get a outside table at a restaurant with heat lamps (it was October) that looked directly onto the Eiffel Tower. It being Europe, they didn’t mind that we took way too long with our dinner in order to watch the Eiffel Tower sparkle over and over again. I think eating a banana split at that restaurant in front of the Eiffel Tower is one of my best memories ever.

That is not the meal I tried to recreate last night. I could make a banana split and stare at the Empire State building, and I may do that outside from my apartment building’s patio when it’s warm out, but it would never be the same.

The story that goes along with the meal I recreated last night goes like this: Chris and I traveled to Paris to meet our friends Evan and Yara, who were both studying abroad. We decided it would be fun to get a late dinner.  After much deliberation, we decided on a restaurant that looked onto a busy street for prime people viewing.  It was a pizza place. A pizza place with many pizzas unknown to my American eyes, one being tuna pizza.

 I love tuna. I love tuna fish salad like any good Jewish girl, and I love seared tuna, and tuna sushi, and really I just love tuna. When I was little, I was the annoying little kid that would bring the stinky tuna sandwich to lunch every day. So when we saw tuna pizza on the menu, Yara immediately dared me to try it. Challenge accepted. The pizzas took a long time to be ready, but when they did come out, mine was amazing. I would have polished off the entire pie if I had the room. It was the best midnight dinner I have ever eaten.

I completely forgot about my tasty tuna pizza until Yara reminded me of it during our recent trip to Pastita. Last night, since I had a pizza crust left over from the weekend, and because Chris (who hates tuna fish, silly boy) was working late, I decided to recreate my Parisian meal. Don’t knock this combination until you try it. Just trust me on this, it’s good.

 Parisian Pizza

–          1 pre-made pizza crust

–          Fresh mozzarella (I didn’t measure how much I used)

–          Shredded mozzarella (I didn’t measure how much I used)

–          1 packet of tuna fish (or can)

–          ¼ of a white onion

–          1 egg (optional)

–          Salt, pepper, oregano, garlic to taste

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Slice up the mozzarella and place on pizza crust. I left space between the slices. Cover the entire pizza with shredded mozzarella. Slice the onion and add it to the pizza. Open the tuna packet and drain. Add the tuna to the pizza. Sprinkle seasonings to taste. I suggest going heavy on the garlic. Bake for five minutes. This next part is optional, and I know it sounds weird, but be adventurous and try it. Crack the egg into a cup. This gives you more control than just cracking it right on the pizza. Pour the egg onto the pizza. I did it in just one corner, in case I didn’t like it, but you can place it anywhere you choose. Bake for ten more minutes or until the crust is golden. Serve it like the French, with white wine!

Oh yum. The egg was good on the pizza!

5 responses to “Parisian Pizza

  1. I love french food – crispy bagettes, pastries, camembert and brie and of course some good red wine 🙂 I have to confess that I agree with Chris and I don’t like tuna (I really wish I did – it’s so good for you with all that omega-3). The pizza looks good though – I like the idea of an egg on top.

  2. I always forget how much I love egg on pizza until I’m eating it. Amazing.

  3. holy f*ck. I’ve been toying with the idea of adding an egg to a pizza for awhile. Looks perfect!

  4. Pingback: Easy Pan Pizza | Big City, Baby Carrots

Leave a Reply

