My Weekend: The Relaxing plus Pear and Blue Cheese with Caramelized Onion Pizza

As I mentioned, my weekend was a mix of on the go and relaxing. Sunday began the relaxation. I started the morning with Pilates. Pilates isn’t super relaxing, but it is fun! I feel myself getting stronger every time, and it was a great way to start the morning.

After Pilates, I had a pretty chill day. I watched Friday Night Lights and cuddled with Hadley. Then Chris and I decided we hadn’t cooked in too long and decided to get creative in the kitchen. I have been wanting to try to replicate a meal I’ve enjoyed at California Pizza Kitchen, so we made:

Pear and Blue Cheese with Caramelized Onion Pizza

– 1 pre-made pizza crust

– 1 Bartlett pear

– 1/2 white onion

– Fresh mozzarella cheese (I didn’t measure how much I used)

– Shredded mozzarella (I didn’t measure how much I used)

– Blue cheese (I didn’t measure how much I used)

– 1 cup Arugla

I started by caramelizing the onions. To do so, I took a tsp of butter and melted it in a pan. Then I added half a sliced onion into the pan. I stirred the onions continuously until they were brown. Then I put them in a bowl while I prepped the rest of my pizza.

I took the pizza crust and covered it with thin slices of fresh mozzarella. I spread it out and left spaces.  I then covered the whole pie with shredded mozzarella.  I next sliced up the pear and covered the entire pie with slices of pear. Then, I added my caramelized onions. I next crumbled a small amount of blue cheese on top of the pears. I added salt, pepper, oregano, and garlic.

Before going in the oven.

I baked according to the direction on the pre-baked pizza. It ended up taking around 15 minutes.

Out of the oven.

I topped the pizza with arugla mixed in a balsamic vinaigrette. I took a pretty picture of this with actual vibrant color, but because my blog doesn’t allow me to ever post truly good pictures, it will not load. Sad face.

The pizza came out really well. It was crispy and cheesy, but the pears and arugla added a certain freshness to the taste. I will be making this again.

What kind of toppings do you like on your pizza?

2 responses to “My Weekend: The Relaxing plus Pear and Blue Cheese with Caramelized Onion Pizza

  1. gosh, that pizza looks FANTASTIC. I especially like white pizza, but anything with extra garlic really floats my boat.

    and, ya know, all my loved ones around me think I’m a real treat. because I smell so awesome after a meal like that.

  2. Pingback: Easy Pan Pizza | Big City, Baby Carrots

Leave a Reply

