My Weekend: The On the Go

This long weekend was the right balance of on the move go and relaxation. Friday night started on the go. It was glorious out in NYC and in the sixties! I took the day off from exercise because my body was asking for it, but I felt so tempted to run outside. I ultimately decided it was a better idea to let my legs have a rest. Especially because I went out in these later that night:

My most favorite heels ever.

I went to dinner at the Corner Shop Cafe with Chris and friends. It was closed for a year and just reopened. Chris and I started out with their much loved on Yelp Mac ‘n Cheese. Maybe I’m not mac ‘ n cheese cultured, but I prefer my Annie’s. For dinner I had a tuna burger. Good but nothing over the top. If you add in the fact that the we waited about an hour and a half to be served, and they brought the meals out one at a time, I won’t be returning. Still, I was with good friends, so it was still fun. We ended the night dancing at a nearby lounge. I was happy I didn’t go running earlier in the day, because my legs would have never approved otherwise. It was fun to dance – I honestly cannot remember the last time I have gone.

Saturday was too fun. I spent the entire day in Lord and Taylor with my mom, aunt, and brother. We even ate lunch there! It turns out their food is yummy. My aunt teased me for taking pictures of my food, but this meal was pretty.

Shrimp ceasar salad and flat bread.

The waitress brought out complimentary mini yogurts for everyone.

We spent the rest of the day shopping, but were unsuccessful for the most part. Still, my mom managed to nab a pair of designer jeans  marked way down. I was proud of myself for not buying just to buy. I’m telling you, my teeny tiny closet is helpful sometimes.

We ended the evening joined by Chris and my cousin at Tavern on Jane. This place is great! I had a restaurant.com coupon to it, which made it even better. The menu wasn’t extensive, but everything we ordered was delicious. The place is small, but not tiny, and they were fine with the fact that we were super late to our reservation. We all shared a calamari app, which was yummy and not greasy at all. For dinner I tried out their seared yellow-fin tuna tacos. This time Yelp reviews didn’t lie. They were oh-so-good. I wish I had pictures, but the place was dark and my little point and shot refused to play along.

Perhaps the most fun part of the restaurant is that the table cloths are paper and they provide crayons so you can draw on it. We had enjoyed a very intense game of hang man, in which my cousin didn’t spell the word we were trying to guess correctly. We aren’t spellers in my family. I think more restaurants should let you draw on their table cloths!

It was so much fun to be out in the city with my family. Whenever my parents visit, we tend to eat in my apartment, so it was great to go try a restaurant with my mom, show her a new area of the city, and even get her to ride the subway. Successful Saturday!

2 responses to “My Weekend: The On the Go

  1. whole day at lord and taylor? BALLLERRRRRR. Anyways…have you ever visited Cali? Thoughts on east vs west coast? And is the winters THAT hard in nyc? Sorry, fiance and I are trying to plan our move!

  2. I have not spent much time in Cali at all. I made one visit out to the Sacramento/San Fran area when Chris was living there for a summer. I thought San Fran was beautiful and Sacramento not so much. Chris has a lot of family living in Cali, and though he says he loves to visit, he doesn’t want to ever move out there. I really don’t think winters are that hard in NYC, but I did just move from Upstate NY where winters are that hard. I complain about it now, because I know it’s almost over, but Dec/Jan the cold weather can be fun! Shoot me an email if you want questions about relocating to NYC, since I just moved to the area in September.

Leave a Reply

