Great Recipe #1 of the Day

Since Chris is working late tonight, I got to work in the kitchen when I got home from work to keep myself entertained. I made not one, but two phenomenal new eats that I want to share. My first great recipe was inspired by Melissa, who mentioned that she mixed spaghetti squash with regular pasta. I thought that sounded like an excellent idea. I gave it a try for dinner tonight and not only was it fabulous, but it made me feel like I doubled my pasta portion. If you like pasta, you will like this recipe.

Spaghetti Squash and Pasta Marinara

To make the Spaghetti Squash: This can be done on the same day or on an earlier day. To make, preheat the oven to 350 degrees, slice the squash in half, clean out the seeds, and bake on a cookie sheet for 45 minutes. Be sure to let it cool when it comes out of the oven, as it will be very hot. When cool enough to handle, take a large spoon and scrape out the “meat” of the squash. It will come out in strings that resemble spaghetti.

To make the rest: Mix one cup of Spaghetti Squash with one cup of cooked angel hair pasta (I used whole wheat). Add  marinara sauce, diced peppers and onions, and parmesan cheese. Mix. Heat in microwave for 2 minutes. Top with feta cheese (optional) and enjoy!

You are so beautiful to me.

Look out for Great Recipe #2 of the Day.

3 responses to “Great Recipe #1 of the Day

  1. I think I just might have to break down and try out a spaghetti squash. I’m inspired. I’ll let you know how it turns out 🙂

  2. I love spaghetti squash, I just hate how much there is in it. I wish I could buy half of one since one is definitely too much for me since I’m cooking for one.

    I havent made it in awhile though so now I am going to be thinking about it non stop.

  3. But it keeps so long! Chris doesn’t make it home for dinner most nights, so I usually cook for one. I made the squash on Sunday, and I’m still enjoying it.

    Kel, let me know if you want any preparation tips.

Leave a Reply

