Make Oat-Banana Pancakes, Pretend Like It’s the Weekend Now

Sunday morning Chris woke up before me. I promised him when I finally made it out of bed (I am such a late sleeper on weekends!), I would make us some homemade oat pancakes. As soon as I made my way out of the bedroom, Chris reminded me of my promise and ran to get us some milk.

I have been meaning to whip up some homemade pancakes for some time now, but weekend after weekend I end up putting it off. I already read up on various recipes, and decided to base my recipe off of one I found on SavyEat. I present to you my Oat-Banana pancakes:

Oat-Banana pancakes

Makes approximately 5 large pancakes

1 cup of Old Fashion oats

1 ¼ cup of whole wheat flour

3 T sugar

1 ½ tsp of baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

¼ cup vegetable oil

1 ½ cup milk

½ banana

Pour Old Fashion oats into blender and grind into flour. You may need to stop the blender and shake the oats and then start again. Blend until looks like flour.

Combined dry ingredients in a mixing bowl. Mix in the wet ingredients and stir. Add more milk if necessary. Cut up the banana into thin slices and add to the mix. The batter should look pea soupy.

Pour your batter onto the pan. This batter is thicker than pancake boxed mix, so be sure to flatten out the poured batter with a spatula.

Not the roundest pancake, but still tasty.

Cook one side, flip and cook the other side. Make sure that the middle is cooked through. Enjoy with your favorite pancake topping. I choose grape jelly.

Oh hello, yummmies.

Note: These pancakes are less sweet than buttermilk pancakes. They have a nice flavor of oatmeal and banana. Because they are less sweet, they go well with a sweet topping. They are also very filling. I had one and half pancakes and was so full that I skipped lunch.

One response to “Make Oat-Banana Pancakes, Pretend Like It’s the Weekend Now

  1. This looks delicious! I am totally trying it this coming weekend!

Leave a Reply

