Making the Grade

So up until May of this past year, I spent my entire life as a student. It was my identity, one that is still kind of odd not have anymore. As a student of 20 years, I have a sick obsession with being graded. I mean, how else are you supposed to check point what you are working on?

So now that I have declared my nerdom, let me explain how this applies. So I am working on dieting and creating a healthy lifestyle for myself. Obviously weighing myself let’s me know if I am up or down in weight. And losing weight is one thing, but it is not always hand in hand with being healthy. I think we all have learned about the dangers of being Skinny-Fat from Cosmo and the likes.

This is why I am currently loving calorie-count.com. It allows you to track your food, but it also grades each thing you put in your mouth based on it’s nutritional value. At the end of the day you get a grade. And call me nerdy, but I get really excited when I get an “Eating A” for the day. Since I am accounting for what I eat, it is helping me to continue to make better choices. Of course this is one of those things you have to make sure not to get obsessed with – I got a B+ yesterday, but it’s no biggie. I mean a B+ was curve in law school.

What nerdy tendencies do you have?

6 responses to “Making the Grade

  1. I absolutely LOVE that website. My personal nerdy tendencies make me partial to all the different graphs and charts, but hey, I was a math freak after all. I’m glad you’re using that website!!

  2. I LOVE logic puzzles to spend my free time… I’m a math nerd

  3. I have to say that math nerd is the one type of nerd I can’t be – I am so bad at it!

  4. That sounds really interesting, I’m diggin the idea of it grading you. I use livestrong.com and it doesnt do anything cool like that!

    I have so many nerdy tendencies…..crossword puzzles, crocheting, googling useless fact websites so I can load up on useless knowledge, etc.

  5. I always say i’m a nerd:) haha….I like reading, making lists, etc.

  6. I love making lists, too, even if I never look at them after I make them.

Leave a Reply

