Warm Soup and Warmer Destinations

Yesterday was a pretty great day. I started it out by trying a new Luna Bar flavor, White Chocolate Macadamia Nut. It was light and had a relaxing nutty taste to it. I think it is my new second favorite flavor, second only to my all time favorite flavor Chocolate Peppermint Stick.

 

Work went by at a fast past. I did take time to pause and enjoy a new lunch for me: PB & banana open-face sandwich. Chris was amazed that I never had this combination before. Apparently, it was Elvis’s favorite. I told him I don’t normally base my cuisine on the likes of past rockstars. Still, I think Elvis was on to something here.

I  came home from work and visited the dog park with Hadley. We were the only two in the whole park, and I discovered that Hadley likes to play with snow balls. When we came home, Chris had already returned from work. In honor of him being home at an earlier hour, we decided to book our vacation. It’s official! 9-nights in the warm Caribbean! I think we all can use some warm weather at this point. Freezing rain tonight? I’ll just have to start bathing suit shopping and dreaming of warm weather.

Chris and I also decided to try out a new recipe together. We had a butternut squash, which is something both of us have never cooked with before. I decided it would be nice to make a warm soup. Thus, our own twist on butternut squash and apple soup was invented.

Butternut Squash and Apple Soup

We modified a recipe I found here.

2 tablespoons butter

1 large onion, chopped

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1 butternut squash, peeled, seeded, cut into 1-inch cubes

4 1/2 cups vegetable broth

2 Gala apples, peeled, cored, diced 

1/2 cup apple cider

1/2 Jasmine rice per serving of soup

Salt, pepper, curry, cinnamon, and turmeric to taste

First melt the butter in a pot. When the butter melts, brown the onions. To do this, add the chopped onions and nutmeg and sauté for approximately 5 minutes. Make sure to stir the onions around constantly or they will stick to the pot and burn. Add the vegetable broth, apple cider, squash, and apples. Add in spices to taste. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to a simmer and leave uncovered until squash and apple are tender, about 30 minutes. Next, take soup off the burner and allow to cool.

Pour soup into a food processor or blender and puree. Make sure the soup isn’t very hot at this point, or it could crack the glass. Puree until smooth.  

Chris called this the Baby Food stage.

Return to pot to warm. Serve with 1/2 cup of jasmine rice mixed into each bowl to add texture. Enjoy!

6 responses to “Warm Soup and Warmer Destinations

  1. Alex @ Healing Beauty

    I love the chocolate peppermint stick flavor! Have you tried Luna protein bars? They are so delicious- Mint Chocolate Chip flavor and the Chocolate Peanut Butter flavors are my favorite!

  2. Hi there! So glad to have found your blog 🙂 I love lunabar’s chocolate peppermint stick flavor. I eat one every workday before lunch. Seriously. I’m a bit addicted!!

  3. I just might have to make this soup!

    xo

Leave a Reply

