Incentives

Last night’s dinner was a great experience (even if Chris was half asleep from staying up all night working the night before), but you’ll have to wait until next week’s Foodie Friday for my review. Let’s just say we didn’t order the bone marrow app.

I am one of those people who works my hardest when I’m working towards a goal. This applies two-fold with working out. I was an athlete through college and was always motivated to stay in shape so that I could play well for myself and team. I find it a lot harder to motivate myself to stay in shape just because. I know that there are a lot of fill in the blanks to follow that because. Because I want to be healthy. Because I want to feel good about my appearance. Because working out feels great. Because I don’t have the money to buy a new wardrobe. But sometimes those always incentives aren’t enough. That’s when special incentives help out.

Chris and I had the perfect relaxing day of lounging around and catching up. We also decided on our vacation! So now I have a special incentive to work towards. We threw around a lot of ideas, but it came down to the fact that this year we wanted a no-stress vacation where we can spend a lot of time relaxing and spending time with each other. Last year we did France and Iceland, which was amazing, but it’s one of those vacations you need a vacation from. This year, we are opting for lying around, tanning, and some adventure thrown in whenever possible. In other words, we are going on a 9-day cruise to Bermuda, St Marteen, St Thomas, and Puerto Rico! We sail out of Jersey so there is no need for flying, which is great because I have a small huge fear of flying (see #55 on my 99 Before 30). Since we are booking off of Orbitz,  we get one free excursion with our trip, so I can get my adventure travel in, too. We won’t book it until Monday, so it may change, but I am pretty sure this is where we are going this year.


Source

So my new special incentive? Get my body bikini worthy! I went on one cruise before when I was a senior in college and still in great shape. I want to look as good on my second cruise as I did on my first. That means that in addition to continuing to eat healthy, I need to continue to work hard on my new gym routine. I hope to have a flat tummy in three months and hopefully my 300 crunches a day will get me there! My old scale broke 2 weeks ago, but I have a new one in the mail now, so that I can track my weight in hopes of dropping 5lbs before the sail date in late April. The scale also supposedly tracks my percentage of body fat, so I am excited to see if this is accurate. Can a scale really track your percentage of body fat and hydration level?

So tell me, do you have any special incentives motivating you lately?

11 responses to “Incentives

  1. Oh man, a warm weather vacation sounds FANTASTIC right about now!

  2. What a nice, long vacation right around the corner to look forward to, I am jealous!

    Vacation is usually incentive for me but I dont have any big ones planned this yr except going out to Phoenix for my best friends birthday in September.

  3. I hear Phoenix is a lot of fun, but I never have been before.

  4. thehungryscholar

    I’ve been trying to work out more so I can drink more wine. That isn’t a view good incentive, though.

  5. That’s a great incentive!!
    I love the Caribbean! I used to think I hated the beach (grew up in California, where the ocean is always cold). Then I went to the caribbean and fell in love!

    • That’s funny. I grew up going to the Jersey Shore and I used to think it was a myth that you could actually see your feet in some water. After going to the Caribbean, I am now freaked out by the fact that you disappear waist down at the Shore!

  6. Oh that vaca-i’m so jealous!!!! Can’t wait to hear all about it!

  7. alexshealingbeauty

    My special incentive is just to try and feel really good in my body. I just want to feel good in my body all the time and that is pretty motivating. My post-yoga highs keep me going!

Leave a Reply

