Foodie Friday Restaurant Week Edition: Aquavit

NYC Restaurant Week is upon us and is running until February 6th. I love Restaurant Week in NYC. It allows you access to restaurants that you (or at least I) normally couldn’t afford. Lunches are $24.50 and dinners are $35. Most restaurants provide 3-course meals and some include a drink. Chris and I are going to a Restaurant Week dinner tonight, which I will write about in next week’s Foodie Friday. This week, I will talk about my last NYC Restaurant Week experience.

Summer of ’09 I was lucky enough to have a summer associate position that gained me access to wonderful lunches at some of the city’s best restaurants. That being said, Aquavit is one of my favorite fancy NYC hotspots. I actually did not go to Aquavit through my job, but rather, through Restaurant Week with the little bro.

My brother and I choose to experience Aquavit because it is Scandinavian cuisine, something neither of us had ever eaten before. The restaurant itself has the sparse yet sleek design that Scandinavia is known for (Ikea has taught me this fact). The restaurant is complete in light wood paneling and hard lines. The dining room is large and the tables are draped in white linen. Many of the chairs are sleek modern designed and add to the ambience of the place. Flowers and paintings add a delicate air to the main dining room.

Source

I began my meal with a hot goat cheese salad and Corey selected a seafood bisque. Both were fabulous. The salad was light, which is what I wanted with the meal ahead in mind. Corey’s soup was creamy and filling, but delicious. For lunch, I had the mackerel. I had never had mackerel before, and it was tender and very tasty. Aquavit is known for their seafood and it did not disappoint. Corey enjoyed the Swedish Meatballs, which I did not try, but he said were tasty. He ate them all very fast, in the very least.

Source

For dessert, I ordered the Hazelnut Praline Terrine which came with apple compote and hazelnut sherbet. This was also a first for me, as I have never had hazelnut in a dessert before. The dessert was perfect – not too sweet which is what I wanted. Corey chose the Arctic Circle, which was a goat cheese parfait served with ligonberry “vartass” sorbet. This was the most interesting thing we had ordered. It is presented as a small tower topped with sorbet. It mixes flavors of creamy frozen goat cheese (the tower) and sweet passion fruit (the filling) and tops it with a sorbet that is reminiscent of blueberries or raspberries. It is a wonderful different taste for the taste buds.

Source

Aquavit was a wonderful experience. All the food was very well presented. Servers were friendly. If portions were scaled down for Restaurant Week, I did not notice. My college-aged brother was excited to be able to experience a fancy NYC restaurant at a price that did not hurt the wallet too much. If you are interested in trying out Aquavit, they are participating in Restaurant Week again, so now’s the time to go!

2 responses to “Foodie Friday Restaurant Week Edition: Aquavit

  1. I adore Aquavit! I have been for restaurant week and for work functions that rented the whole place out. The food is so good, and the portion sizes are spot on. I like when they control the intake for me, I’m so bad at doing it myself.

    Check out my brand spanking new list of all my Manhattan faves: http://hungrychildinthecity.wordpress.com/relationship-with-manhattan/

Leave a Reply

