Going Greek

I was lucky enough to spend yesterday and today with my brother, Corey, and cousin, Jason. Jason lives out in LA, but his work has sent him out to my area for a few months. They actually came over late Friday night after my book club, but we didn’t get to hang out until the next day.

We hung out and caught up during the day and stored up energy to go out at night. We started our night at a BBQ place called Brother Jimmy’s. First we enjoyed hush puppies (not so healthy, but we split the app 3-ways). Then for my main dish, I ordered a salad, since there isn’t much at BBQ place for someone who doesn’t eat meat. The salad was surprisingly good. The best part about it was that there was sliced sweet potato in it. I would have never thought to put cold sweet potato in a salad, but now I am going to copy the idea.

We spent the rest of the night meeting up with a friend of mine who also had a cousin visiting. Yay, for family!

Today, I introduced Jason to ABC Family’s Greek and we spent the next many hours pretending to relive college. It’s amazing to see how much the characters have developed and changed since Season 1. I still think it’s amazing that Rusty hit Evan with a pledge paddle.

After Corey and Jason left, I stocked up on produce at my local veggie market. I love this market, because I can get lots of fresh produce for a low price. Check out what I got for $11.

I'm set for the week!

For dinner, and perhaps with Greek on my mind, I recreated a favorite dish from a local Greek restaurant.

Greek Salmon with Roasted Vegetables

I sliced up onions, green peppers, zucchini, and broccoli and put it on a baking sheet with 1 Tbs of olive oil and seasoned with garlic, pepper, and salt. Then I prepped my salmon with lots of lemon juice and lemon pepper seasoning. I placed the salmon on the same baking sheet as the veggies and cooked at 350. I didn’t time it, but rather, just waited until the salmon looked cooked through. Meanwhile, I made some instant garlic couscous on the oven and toasted a half piece of pita bread. I served whole thing mixed together with a little bit of low-fat yogurt.

2 responses to “Going Greek

  1. I’ve never seen Greek but hear it’s good and I’m a former sorority girl, perhaps I should put it on my Netflix?

    I love anything Greek–food, wine, men 🙂 That dinner looks like a yummy Greek mess….and I dont even like salmon!

  2. Greek is my current favorite show on TV. I was in a sorority in college, too, and though the show is way more outlandish than my Greek experience was, it still reminds me of being in college. I would recommend Netflixing. Let me know how you like it!

Leave a Reply

