Foodie Friday: Penelope

It’s cold out. The streets are covered in slush. You’ve had a long day at work. Heck, you’ve had a long week at work. You want need to exhale, relax, embrace the weekend. Well, happy Friday! If you’re life has taken on this black-and-white-movie-sad-scene lately, then I suggest stepping into the warm embrace of Penelope.

I found Penelope on such a dreary night. Chris’s sister, Carrie, was visiting and despite the chilly December night and the slush on the streets in the City that just never goes away, we were out exploring some wonderful Christmas Markets. But now we were cold, wet-footed, and hungry. Thankfully my boyfriend is at times a huge nerd and pulled his trusty Zagat out of his coat pocket. Yes, he keeps a Zagat in his nice coat pocket. Boy loves his guidebooks.

We wanted a cozy place to accommodate our many needs. I’m a pescatarian. Carrie is a vegan. Etc. Flipping through the Zagat, Penelope caught my eye. It’s described as a cozy New England-style restaurant with many vegetarian and vegan options. Perfect.

Penelope did not disappoint. The restaurant is adorable and reminiscent of a New England beach town. The walls are painted a pale blue, and there is even a white picket fence lining the waiting room. The sitting area is full of hardwood benches, chalk boards listing the daily specials, and a low-light that warms the room. Cozy is the perfect word to describe the place.

We started with the Joel, Abundio, & Patricio’s Guacamole. It was a huge serving size. Though I’m partial to my own guacamole (a recipe I’ll share later), it was still very good, and I appreciated the novelty of leaving the pits in the bowl. It came with delicious chips to dip with that were very appreciated.

For dinner, I ordered a salad called When Veggie Met Sally. It is described on the menu as chopped greens with red onion, grilled veggie burger, and green apple tossed with goat cheese in a roasted garlic balsamic vinaigrette. It was served with wonderful fruit filled bread – I believe cranberry and pecans. The salad was so good. I’m often hesitant about mixing hot and cold together in a salad, but this just worked. I am also pretty picking about my veggie burgers and this one was an excellent, clearly homemade one. I gobbled up my salad and got a warm belly feeling that salads often cannot provide.

So, Penelope is awesome. The saddest thing about my experience there was that I didn’t leave room for one of their many homemade desserts. Everyone else enjoyed their meals, expect Chris who was disappointed in his Spinach Pie. I would recommend skipping the entrees here and sticking with the apps, salads, and sandwiches. There are more than enough options to choose from on the menu. If you go, please let me know how their milk and cookies taste. They looked so good.

4 responses to “Foodie Friday: Penelope

  1. alexshealingbeauty

    The salad sounds amazing! Definitely one I’d want to try and make on my own and I enjoy the process of re-creating restaurant foods!

  2. that sounds really good! I get weird with cold/hot too. Because there are some things I want HOT and some things I want COLD and then the hot things make the cold things warmer and the cold things make the hot things cooler and… it’s funny. But yet, they usually taste delish!

    PS I LOVE the name of your blog! It’s really cute and creative!

  3. It was so good! I wish I remember what was in the veggie burger so I knew how to recreated it.

Leave a Reply

