Siggi’s Icelandic-Style Yogurt

Last Autumn, Chris and I were able to take a trip of a lifetime to Iceland. We had an amazing time. One of the ways we like to take in a culture while traveling is to take in the local cuisine. Though we weren’t brave enough to try the rancid shark delicacy, we did enjoy Skyr.

Me on top of a glacier in Iceland. We snowmobiled there.

Skyr is a thicker and tarter yogurt than traditional American yogurt from Iceland. When we were there, we were able to enjoy Skyr both on its own and used in other dishes.

Skyr Creme Brule

I haven’t had the chance to have Skyr since our trip. Yesterday in Whole Foods, Siggi’s Iceland-Style Skyr was on sale. I grabbed two and brought them back with me to NYC. This morning, I enjoyed one mixed with pumpkin granola.

Lunch was simple today: a Morningstar Chik Patty on an Arnold’s Sandwich Thin with spinach served with a side of Half Naked popcorn. Later, I beat the midday hunger with a banana.

Right now, I am making some bulked up mac n cheese. If it comes out good, I will share the recipe tomorrow. Also, I am currently baking these:

Kelley highly recommends them, and they are so easy to make – just add low-fat vanilla yogurt. I’ll let you know how they come out! I plan on enjoying one after my late-night PT with a glass of red wine. Perfect, no?

10 responses to “Siggi’s Icelandic-Style Yogurt

  1. alexshealingbeauty

    I’ve been wanting to try the Siggi’s yogurt!

  2. Thats an awesome picture from Iceland. It looks so desolate! How did you all decide to visit there?

    I heard those brownies are awesome. I keep meaning to pick up a box when I visit TJ’s but always forget–give us your feedback once you try! And now I want wine….

    • Icelandic Air is trying to build up tourism, so they have a great deal that you can have a “free” stopover up to two and a half days. What that means is that you can fly wherever that stops in Iceland on Icelandic Air, in my case Paris, then on the way back stay for up to 2 1/2 days and then get on another flight and you only pay for the round trip. Plus, it’s a pretty cool place to visit.

  3. I have always wanted to try Siggi’s yogurt. I hear that it is absolutely to die for.

    xo

  4. i’ve seen no pudge everywhere on blogworld!! same with siggi’s, but i havent been able to find them over here where i live. GRR!! also i just found your blog and love it already 😀

  5. Pingback: Where in the World | Big City, Baby Carrots

  6. Pingback: Parisian Pizza | Big City, Baby Carrots

Leave a Reply

