Let it Snow, Let it Snow, Let it Snow

Wait, close your eyes and breathe. I smell snow. – Lorelai Gilmore.

Is anyone else a huge Gilmore Girl fan?

It’s snowing in NYC! I am such a child when it comes to snow. I just moved from Upstate NY in September, so you would think three years of constant snow would knock the love out of me, but I am still hopelessly devoted to it. There really is something new and magical about snow. Well, for the first day that it’s falling. Then I jump on the “I hate sludge” bandwagon, but that’s not today. Today is the day that the snow is falling. Starting my morning with snow flurries has put me in such a good mood!

My puppy, Hadley, is getting groomed today. When I get out of work, I am taking him to run around in the snow and get his coat even dirtier before he goes and gets all pretty. Got to get your money worth, right? I have discovered that one of the best benefits of having a dog is that you have an excuse to act like a child again (really I don’t think I ever totally stopped). We had a blizzard last week, and Hadley and I ran around and flopped in the snow. It was fabulous. Hadley loves snow as much as I do. He isn’t very large – about 25lbs – so he ends up swimming through the high parts. He really enjoys doing it, and I really enjoy watching him. I doubt we will have enough snow for swimming today, but it’ll still be fun to stomp around in its magic.

Snow also makes me think immediately of cooking and baking. I may stay in tonight, because Chris has come down with something that makes him sound horrible, and if so, I am definitely cooking. Chris ironically gave me for Christmas A Jewish Vegetarian Cookbook, and there are some recipes I am itching to try. I am also tempted to stop by Zabar’s on the way home (even though the UWS is actually not on the way home) and get some yummies like Kosher pickles and Challah to go along with the meal. Bring on the weekend!

3 responses to “Let it Snow, Let it Snow, Let it Snow

  1. I LOVE Gilmore Girls. And I love that she plays a very similar character on Parenthood now. 🙂

  2. Does she? I have been scared to watch it because I love Lorelai so much.

  3. Pingback: Up and Running « Big City, Baby Carrots

Leave a Reply

